Skip to main content

Dr. Socorro Zaragoza is the first EKU graduate of the Academic Leadership Development Institute

Dr. Socorro Zaragoza and EKU President Michael Benson

Dr. Socorro Zaragoza is the first EKU faculty to graduate from the Academic Leadership Development Institute (ALDI) by the Kentucky Council on Postsecondary Education

KCPE hosts a series of workshops each Spring and Fall to address the personal, interpersonal and organizational issues faced by early career underrepresented faculty of color. Kentucky college and university provosts nominate faculty members to participate.  Dr. Socorro Zaragoza, Associate Professor of Spanish and member of the EKU Diversity Committee, was chosen to represent Eastern Kentucky University in this groundbreaking collaboration.

Noted scholar Dr. Alma Clayton-Pederson with the Association of American Colleges and Universities facilitated the inaugural event, which engaged ALDI cohort members in a discussion of the demographics of the higher education leadership pipeline.  Dr. Clayton also facilitated a panel of Kentucky educational leaders who will share their experiences with leadership advancement, succession planning and the importance of leadership diversity.

Members of the first cohort include:

‒        Bluegrass Community and Technical College: LaVetta Reliford,

‒        Eastern Kentucky University: Socorro Zaragoza,

‒        Henderson Community and Technical College: Michelle Chappell,

‒        Jefferson Community and Technical College: Leonard Thomas,

‒        Kentucky State University: Donavan Ramon,

‒        Madisonville Community College: Aseem Talukdar,

‒        Morehead State University: Tamera Izlar,

‒        Murray State University: Mi-Hwa Park,

‒        Northern Kentucky University: Francoise Knox-Kazimierczuk,

‒        Somerset Community College: Amanda Waterstrat,

‒        Southeast Kentucky Community and Technical College: Victoria Cloud,

‒        University of Kentucky: Julie Plasencia, Jacqueline Couti and Gabriel Dadi,

‒        University of Louisville: Delaina Amos, Dewey Clayton, Baron Kelly and Sherri Wallace,

‒        Western Kentucky University: Kimberly Green

Congratulations Dr. Zaragoza!!

Published on November 03, 2017

Open /*deleted href=#openmobile*/